Yervant1

The True North!

• Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,603 posts

Posted 23 June 2018 - 10:59 AM

Daily Mail, UK
June 22 2018

Now THAT'S a man cave! Inside the 65ft-deep underground world dug out by a builder over 23 YEARS... using just a chisel and hammer
  • Levon Arakelyan, who was a builder by profession, spent 23 years crafting the 280-square-metre cave
  • Today the hand-crafted cellar in the village of Arinj in Armenia is open as a museum 
  • New Zealand-based photographer Amos Chapple recently journeyed to the attraction to shed some light on it 

By Sadie Whitelocks for MailOnline

Published: 03:09 EDT, 22 June 2018

These fascinating photos show how one man painstakingly created a jaw-dropping basement under his house, using just a hammer and chisel.

Builder Levon Arakelyan spent 23 years crafting the incredible 65ft-deep, 3,000-square-foot subterranean space and he was even working on the project on the day he died in 2008, aged 67. He began working on it after his wife, Tosya, asked for a cool space for her potatoes. He got carried away. 

Today the hand-crafted cellar network in the village of Arinj in Armenia is open as a museum and New Zealand-based Radio Free Europe photographer Amos Chapple recently journeyed to the attraction to shed some light on it. 

4D7C854C00000578-5870117-image-a-95_1529

These fascinating photos show how one man painstakingly created a jaw-dropping basement under his house, armed with just a hammer and chisel

Mr Chapple said he decided to visit the unique basement after reading an article about it online.

Apparently Tosya no longer ventures into the cavern as she's scared of having a fall, so the cameraman went down there alone. 

Describing the cave, he told MailOnline Travel: 'I went and scouted the place out with the lights on. I then went back up and asked Tosya to switch all the lights off and I would work down there alone to take photographs. 

4D7C85D900000578-5870117-Over_the_years_