1 reply to this topic

#1 Eddie

Eddie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Interests:many including Armenian literature, history and culture

Posted 09 March 2010 - 04:59 AM

Though I have at odd times seen my name on this forum, I am new to it and not therefore sure how it works. But noting the importance attached to Armenian literature, below is a draft portion of a review I am doing of a fine translation of Aksel Bakunts by Nairi Hakhverdi. Any comments as I prepare this review for Groong will be appreciated.

Eddie

‘The Dark Valley: Short Stories by Aksel Bakunts
(Translated by Nairi Hakhverdi, 149pp, 2008, Taderon Press, London)

Part One: Peasant life in the era of war, genocide and revolution

I
Aksel Bakunts’s ‘Dark Valley’ is locked into the rugged heights of some of eastern Armenia’s most remote mountainous regions. ‘Almost untouched and wild’ it resembles ‘one of those forgotten places from an era when mankind did not exist and the fossilised dinosaur felt as free as the bear does in our days (p13, 140). It was from within the villages of this valley that Bakunts fashioned this, his first, volume of short stories unearthing dramas of maimed lives, deep sorrows, lost loves, wounded spirits and sad remembrances, the artistic excellence of which is conveyed amply in this new English translation by Nairi Hakhverdi.